Standing at the kitchen sink, just before noon, and I can almost hear it – the splintering of a day. She sulks loudly underfoot and I pretend not to notice until I can’t pretend anymore. The sound of my own impatience splitting the air tells me it’s time to retreat. We’re not merrily rowing along. We’ve run aground. When the early morning clock jarred, I bolted, not for Bread but bustle, and now the soul snarls faint with hunger pangs. I know this and know better, because some days motherhood is as emptying as it is fulfilling. Two tender saplings root into me and drink – but what?  Can the starving nourish another? Can the bone dry bubble joy? Can I ladle Life into cupped hands standing miles from The Well? How can a mama abide when she can’t find quiet or time?

“I SAW MORE CLEARLY THAN EVER THAT THE FIRST GREAT AND PRIMARY BUSINESS TO WHICH I OUGHT TO ATTEND EVERY DAY, WAS TO HAVE MY SOUL HAPPY IN THE LORD. THE FIRST THING TO BE CONCERNED ABOUT WAS NOT HOW MUCH I MIGHT SERVE THE LORD, HOW I MIGHT GLORIFY THE LORD; BUT HOW I MIGHT GET MY SOUL INTO A HAPPY STATE, AND HOW MY INNER MAN MIGHT BE NOURISHED.”
 {  GEORGE MUELLER  }

Two things are serving me well in this season of little children, little quiet and little time:

  •  Bibles, left open, scattered about. This simple provision has provided consistent refreshment through a wearying season. Sink turned sanctuary. Bountiful feast on the breakfast table. A call to worship on the kitchen counter. A reminder to take root and bear fruit and serve the only Bread that can satisfy in this house.
  • 3×5 cards, with one or two scriptures for mindful meditation as I go through the day. I’m discovering that often times, this method of slowly digesting a small passage of Scripture nourishes my soul more than a handful of chapters hurriedly plowed in the wee morning hours in a state of exhaustion.Motherhood changes with the seasons. It can also be fraught with guilt and condemnation. For me, each season has been unique and has required me to think outside the box a little. If your “quiet time” today wasn’t long or quiet, don’t be discouraged. There is no condemnation! Be creative. Ask the Lord to show you how you can make the most of the time that you do have. He is so faithful.

“CONNECT ONE BIT OF SCRIPTURE TO ONE BIT OF LIFE. IN OTHER WORDS, ALWAYS ASK TWO QUESTIONS OF YOURSELF AND OTHERS: WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT STRUGGLE? WHAT ABOUT GOD IN CHRIST CONNECTS TO THIS?
. . .  BRING ONE BIT OF THE BIBLE INTO ONE BIT OF LIFE . . .  YOU CAN’T DEAL WITH IT ALL AT ONCE. SCRIPTURE NEVER DOES . . .  BUT A TIMELY TEXT BRINGS TRUTH DOWN TO A CONSUMABLE SIZE . . .  CHANGE WALKS OUT IN THE DETAILS . . . 

 { DAVID POWLISON }

P.S. Listening to this by David Nevue this morning. Beautiful!

David Powlison, “Think Globally, Act Locally,” Journal of Biblical Counseling, Volume 22, Number 1, (Fall 2003): 2-10.

Image Map