Tags

, , , ,


Lately, I’ve been reading a good bit about “whole foods” and healthy substitutions. The thought of making over our entire pantry seemed daunting so I decided to begin with the staples – foods that regularly slip into the rhythm of a week.  I’d been mulling a muffin recipe over in my mind for awhile.  The idea of substituting milled flax seed for oil was a new one to me and got my wheels spinning. Having never written a recipe before, I was not very optimistic I could produce anything edible, but over the long weekend I finally scrounged up the time to put it on paper and the courage to try it out. I did away with the all-purpose flour (substituting whole grain oat flour), used milled flax-seed to replace some of the oil, and did not add any sugar. They are plenty sweet, deliciously moist (will try decreasing the oil even more with the next batch), and got a whole-hearted thumbs up from a four-year old with a serious hankering for sugar.

BANANA BLUEBERRY OAT MUFFINS

Updated since time of posting: I made the second batch using only 1 TBSP of oil and 6 TBSP of flax seed meal. Hot out of the oven, I thought the f flax was too much, even though they were still wonderfully moist. However, after letting them cool, they are perfect. I like them just as much as the original recipe, even after re-heating them. Play around with it and see what suits your taste.

3 bananas
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp cold-pressed canola oil
3 Tbsp flax-seed meal
1 & 1/2 cups oat flour
1 & 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
blueberries (I used almost an entire bag of Cascadian Farm organic. Thaw. Don’t rinse or drain.)

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
In a large mixing bowl, beat bananas, honey, vanilla, oil, and flax-seed.
Add dry ingredients.
Mix well.
Fold in blueberries.
Spoon into lined (or greased) muffin tin.
Place a cookie sheet beneath the muffin tin to keep the bottoms from over-browning.

Bake 16 min or until done.
Makes 12 regular sized muffins.

 

Image Map
